After emerging from a relationship in which I dealt with a crackhead far longer than I should have. I sit here facing something else.
Do I want to do the hardwork? Do I want to put in the elbow grease needed to make this work?
How did I get here?
There is so much pain and angst and I realize that I have contributed to some of that. I have put in my two cents. As small as the contribution may have been, it was a crushing, unexpected blow. And I have often questioned his position on the matter.
I get that love overcomes a lot. But what I realize is, he is guarded and will remain so until he feels better about us. This hurts me a bit, because, what I did back then gives me so much grief, that if he truly understood it, he wouldn't "mad" at me.
Then I wonder about my track record of not dallying around in my marriage. Doesn't it say something that not, even for him, would I stray? I made a commitment and I stuck to it. Part of it I think came from guilt as well that I had actually done something like that.
His acute need for privacy is crazy. And sometimes I call him a fugitive.
We are building, I know, and there will be bumps in the road. It's hard to relax when I feel like I am always in "prove it" mode. And it is not something that he's insinuated or said. It's just guilt I guess.
His actions hurt. I won't lie. And I don't want him to think it a free pass as we try to get past this. I worry that we won't.
This weekend was nice. We didn't see each other much, which is the exact opposite that's needed to make a nice weekend. But, somehow, it was still nice. And our communication stepped up just a teensy bit more.
I wish my head didn't rattle. I wish that I didn't think so hard sometimes. I want to just enjoy each day as it comes, and when I start to, I let it get out of hand and agitating. I guess old habits die hard...
No comments:
Post a Comment